Potato Fact #49

In 2002, McDonald’s issued an apology and paid a $10 million settlement in response to a lawsuit alleging that their switch from beef tallow to vegetable oil had misconstrued their fries as suitable for vegetarians. Today, although McDonald’s no longer uses beef tallow, the fries are still not vegetarian-friendly, as they contain “natural beef flavor.”